Spiro Kostof Lectures

One of the best things that I have gotten from studying towards an architecture degree is taking Architecture History classes. I enjoy such history and theory classes immensely, to the extent I am seriously considering becoming an academic. But for the time being, I found out that lectures given by the eminent architecture historian and lecturer Spiro Kostof have been digitalized and are available online. Kostof’s ‘A History of Architecture: Settings and Rituals (1985) was the text book prescribed for undergraduate architecture history classes at UC Berkeley. Thinking back to fall 2010 when I had professor Andy Shanken lecturing for 170A has got to be one of the best classes I have taken so far. I highly recommend these lectures for any architecture student.

You can find the lectures here:
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/kostof.html

Leave a Reply

